My Picks for Red Lips

Hello and happy Monday to ya! Hope all of you had a restful weekend. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with different shades of red lipstick, trying to find that “go-to” shade. In the past I’ve always stayed away from red, red clothes, red nail polish, but certainly not red lipstick. It was strictly neutrals for this girl: browns and nudes.

It wasn’t until I was planning my wedding about 4 years ago, inspired by the red hues at our venue that exuded romance. So I took a leap by sporting red lips on my weeding day. I’ve been hooked ever since. There’s just something about a red lip! Here are the brands and shades I’ve been rockin recently.

 

 

Revlon ColorStay Overtime Lipcolor in unending red

Revlon Colorstay Overtime Lip Color in Unending Red

I love this shade for everyday wear! The opaque red hue with shimmery pink undertones compliments just about any skin tone. What I love most is the convenience of finding it virtually anywhere for less than $10. This lip color has the staying power of a stain, but don’t forget to add the gloss after applying your color for more moisture and better results.

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Olivia

NARS Audacious Lipstick in Olivia

I’ve found my “go-to” shade with Olivia! Described as garnet, it’s a medium-dark red  with warm brown undertones with a smooth satin finish. Unfortunately it has the highest price tag at $32, however I will say, it’s worth every penny as this lipstick is pretty darn incredible!  I just love how richly pigmented the color is and how great it looks on my café con leche complexion. I did notice after about 4 hours and 2 big meals, the color feathered a little. The next wear I used a lip liner and that definitely helped.

Smashbox Be Legendary Matte Lipstick in Made It!

Smashbox Be Legendary Matte Lipstick in Made It!

I’ve always preferred the matte look, but hated how dry my lips would get. I didn’t have any of that with this matte lipstick and I adore the brick red color. It glides on easily, doesn’t feather or bleed, but it does wear off around the inner lips.

Lorac Lip Luxe 8 Hour Lip Color in True Red

Lorac Lip Luxe 8 Hour Lip Color in True Red 

The name says it all. This lip color has major staying power. I applied in the morning and by the end of my day, the color was still just as vibrant as it was at 9am. I do recommend first applying a moisturizing lip balm or primer because this lip color is a little drying.

What are some of your favorite shades of red and what brands would you recommend? Thanks for reading and have a great rest of your Monday! 

 

6 thoughts on “My Picks for Red Lips

Leave a Reply

