Isabella Frances- 12 Months Old!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY SWEET BABY ISABELLA FRANCES!

As I look at her, I still can’t believe she’s a year old. Where did the last 12 months go? So much has happened…but it’s hard to summarize our entire amazing year and finding the right words to express how I feel is a lot more difficult than I thought it would be.

This has been by far the most incredible year of my life…I became a mom. It feels like just yesterday, she was placed on my chest, looking at her beautiful face as she opened her innocent eyes for the first time. It’s such an indescribable feeling. The overwhelming amount of love I felt, she totally had my heart. There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for her! She has given me strength, patience and helped grow me into the woman I always wished I would be.

Her smile lights up my world and her laugh…oh her laughter is like music to my soul. I’m just in awe of Her. From the newborn I cradles in my arms to the feisty and determined baby girl she is today, she has forever changed our lives and has undoubtedly brought our family so much joy!

Happy birthday my world, my love, the WHY behind everything I do. We love you so much!

Isabella’s 12 month updates:


Height/Weight: Isabella is 32 inches tall (90th percentile), 30.5 lbs (99th percentile).

Health: Other than a little runny nose and a few snifflesIsabella has been doing great health-wise. Right around Thanksgiving she started showing signs of an ear infection. We think it had something to do with teething. She sprouted her first molar along with 3-4 other teeth and it wasn’t pretty at all. She ran fevers upwards of 103 degrees, she was in such pain and discomfort, it broke my heart watching her cry and not being able to make it all go away for her. I get teary eyed just thinking about it.


Sleep: Yay we’re officially back to sleeping through the night! This babe sleeps consistently from about 9:45/10ish through 8 a.m. She’ll still wake up in the middle of the night on occasion, but she  goes back to sleep once I give her the pacifier.
Social: Lots of play time at daycare! Now that she’s officially a year old she’ll start to transition her from the infant nursery to the 1-2 year old room. She still gets a little nervous when she sees faces that she doesn’t immediately recognize, but thankfully the caretakers in both rooms have been amazing with spending time with her so she feels more comfortable making for a less stressful transition for her.

Diet: Isabella is still getting formula, but she’s also getting table food on a pretty regular basis. She still has a 4 ounce bottle with 2-2.5 ounces of oatmeal cereal and fruit purée for breakfast. For lunch she usually has table food, usually veggies and fruits with some type of protein. I’ve been somewhat hesitant to give her meat. She tried chicken for the first time not too long ago when she had the flu. My mom made her famous homemade chicken noodle soup (puréed of course) and she loved it. She also really likes arroz con gandules, steamed white rice and pigeon peas.

At a recent visit to her pediatrician, he suggested that we start introducing her to milk. That something else I’ve been a little hesitant to do. The plan is to mix milk into her bottles 25/75 then 50/50 etc. to get her used to the taste. She likes most foods so maybe she will take well to it. If anyone has tip on transitioning, I’m all ears!

Likes: Walking is her biggest like right now…she hardly ever crawls anymore! She also likes to pull bows out of her hair, points at everything, saying “gooo” or “sit” she loves telling the dog to sit down. She likes pushing things to slide along the floor, playing peek-a-boo with anything she can use to cover her face or hide behind and pop up like a little gofer.
Dislikes: Hair bows and hair ties! Combing her hair these days isn’t as bad as it was in months past, but she’s by no means a fan of having it done especially when I put her hair in a ponytail with a hair tie or add a bow to her curly little fro. Aside from having her hair combed, she’s also dislikes waiting for her food. It’s like you can’t move fast enough, she wants it like yesterday!
Clothes: Baby girl is still wearing size 4 diapers and mostly 18-24 month clothes. There are a few 12-18 month insides she can fit into, but she mostly wears those to bed.
 
Crying: We’re still experiencing some tantrums but they’re getting shorter. Once we started to be firm with our and redirect, they’ve improved. She still tests our boundaries A LOT (touch things on purpose she knows she’s not supposed to, watching to see our reaction when she does, etc). Things have (temporarily I’m sure) improved over the last month.
 
Milestones: She walks everywhere, doesn’t crawl much anymore. She understands so much…she asks for her baa-baa when she’s hungry or points her spoon for me to feed her. She follows directives pretty well and identify objects (“where’s your bo-bo?/go get Mr. Teddy”).
Photos courtesy of Manda Lynn Photos
Isabella’s dress: H&M
Thank you so much to each and every one of you who have read my blog and supported me throughout the first year of motherhood. For your comments, advice and overall sweetness, I’m grateful for y’all.
Leave a Reply

