Isabella Frances: Four Months Old!

Isabella is “officially” four months…Woo-Hoo! This month has been the most fun. Baby Isa is learning so much, developing and meeting milestones so fast, it’s really amazing to watch!

Hubs and I say all the time how blessed we are to have such a beautiful little girl that is already full of personality. “Though she be but little, she is fierce” describes her perfectly! We love seeing her smiles and hearing her giggles–she’s such a happy baby and so pleasant to be around.

Isabella has adjusted to daycare extremely well—she usually goes five days a week. During weeks that I have to work a Saturday or Sunday my parents watch her. When I work a weekend I usually get a weekday off and I’ll keep her home, but it’s great having the option of taking her to daycare even for a few short hours. When I pick her up she’s happy and the caretakers are great with her. She’s the youngest in her class, but definitely not the smallest in size. Speaking of size–I like that the class size is around 6-8 babies to three teachers. They do fun age-appropriate activities with them. They even took them outside to celebrate Earth Day…so adorable!   She seems to really like her caretakers, she’s always smiling at them when I drop her off in the mornings. I also love that it’s so close to my office. I get to walk over in the afternoons for a visit on my lunch break.

Since starting daycare, I’ve noticed a few times where she was a little congested. Our pediatrician recommended that I steam up the bathroom during her baths. That seems to really help. Most recently she’s picked up a little cold and has been very congested and coughing the past few days. I purchased a humidifier for her nursery which has made a world of difference breaking up the congestion allowing her to sleep comfortably at night. During her baths, I’ll leave a few inches of hot water in the tub and add a few drops of eucalyptus essential oil while she sits in her infant tub. I also picked up saline drops to give to her after her bath and while she’s at daycare. Although she wasn’t feeling her best, she was still super pleasant. I can tell she’s feeling a little better. Baby girl was all smiles this morning.

Weight: Isabella has definitely chunked up over the last few weeks. I’m guessing she weighs around 16-17lbs. She has an appointment with her pediatrician in 2 weeks, so we’ll confirm her measurements then.

Diet: Since my milk production is still not where I hoped it would be, she’s being bottle fed Enfamil Gentlease formula. We’ve also incorporated spoon-feeding her two ounces of Gerber Oatmeal into her mid morning feedings, which she really likes. Surprisingly, she eats from a spoon pretty well especially for being so young. It does require a little extra time, a bib and a burp cloth…or 2.

   
 Sleep: She’s still sleeping pretty well, 6-8 hours most nights. Though she does nap while she’s in daycare, there are days when she comes home so exhausted. I’ll let her nap for an hour or so before waking her around 8pm for her last night bottle and bathe her by 9. Since I’ve been giving her a bath a little later, she sleeps right through the night. We’ve also started letting her sleep in her crib. The bassinet is just too small for her and now that she’s able to roll herself over, the crib is much safer.

Social: Isabella is babbling more than ever! I love how she cracks up laughing when she sees the look on my face after she lets out these loud coos. I’ve also noticed that she definitely recognizes voices. The other day hubs called as I was feeding Isa and because my hands were full, I put him on speaker phone. Right away I could tell she recognized her daddy’s voice. This look of surprise followed by sheer excitement came across her face. She pulled her bottle out and started to kick her little feet. 

Crying: Isa really doesn’t cry much. Only if she is hungry or has a tummy ache when she’s a little gassy. Though I have started to noticed that she occasionally sheds a few tears when I lay her down on the changing table. Thankfully the tears don’t last very long.

Size of Clothing: So…it seems like she’s starting to outgrow size 1 diapers, which feels to me like she only fit them for a hot second. As far as clothes go, she’s outgrowing them too. There are moments I find myself saying to her “slow down, baby girl! Mommy is not ready for you to grow this fast”. She’s still fitting into a few of her larger 3 month sized clothes, but 3-6 month fits much better.

Loves:  I’ll have her four month favorites post up soon!

Milestones: Isabella is developing so quickly! She’s babbling a ton and during tummy time she pushes up on her hands. Speaking of hands–baby girl has one heck of a grip. Hubs and I call it the “kung foo grip”. When she grips our fingers she’s also pulling herself up to a sitting position or stands straight up on her feet (completely supporting her own head too!). Lately she’s been putting her hands in her mouth, which I think is a sign she’s starting to teethe. She’s also rolling from tummy to back and back to tummy.  Overall, she’s is far more responsive.

Likes: Having her belly, hands and feet kissed, tummy time, bananas and oatmeal cereal, looking in the mirror as I sing to her, my cookie monster voice, her swing, and her new friend, Mr. Teddy Bear. Dislikes: when bath time is over she sometimes puts on her poutty face. She also cries a little when she realizes her bottle is empty.

Postpartum: I’m feeling pretty good, almost back to normal. In a previous post I mentioned that I was experiencing bouts of anxiety and my PCP recommended someone for me to talk to. Speaking to someone has helped in a major way! I don’t feel as anxious anymore, though there are days where I feel like I’m about to have a meltdown because the baby is screaming because she doesn’t want to be put in her car seat and I’m already running late to work or I’m feeling super self-conscious because my body looks ugly very different after having the baby. So far I’ve learned that postpartum affects everyone differently and the emotions can seriously make the smallest of issues seem catastrophic, which can absolutely test your patience andyour relationship or marriage. My advice: take things one day at a time. If you find yourself unable to shake certain feelings don’t be afraid or ashamed to seek the necessary help.

It took me about a week or so to find the right routine and believe me, some days I still struggle with that routine. I remember feeling so overwhelmed, like I wanted to just scream at the top of my lungs (I just cried instead) during my first week back at work. Getting up in the mornings and trying to remember everything I needed to pack for the baby while juggling diaper changes, a feeding, dressing her and trying to dress myself…remembering to let the dog out and feeding him seemed almost like an Olympic sport. By the time I dropped the baby off at daycare and get to my desk, I’m exhausted and my work day is just starting. Oh, the working mom struggle is REAL! Anytime we start a new routine, especially one that affects all members of a family, things will be a little stressful at times. I’ve also learned what works for others doesn’t always work for me or my family. Because of my work schedule, I can’t do everything for everyone and I have to ask for help (which is super hard for me to do at times). What works for me: doing everything at nights from prepping Isabella’s daycare bag and bottles to picking out what both of us will wear the next day. For me, doing mostly everything at night makes my morning routine run so much smoother and I don’t feel rushed or like a maniac. I can take my time changing and feeding her, overall, just enjoying my morning with her and soaking up those moments before dropping her off at daycare. Of course nothing is perfect, so no need for me to stress out because something didn’t go according to plan. When moments of frustration creep in, I just remember, SHE AND MY FAMILY ARE WORTH IT!

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

