26 Weeks!

Last Friday my bestie, Raquel, flew into town for a conference for her job. It’s been about a year or so since we saw each other last, so getting to see her was an awesome treat! We spent Saturday doing some well needed catching up. She got a chance to see my super noticeable baby bump, we talked about her upcoming wedding plans and enjoyed dinner and dessert on hotel property at Shula’s Steakhouse. We also made our way over to the nearby Premium Outlets for a little shopping; trying to find shoes for her future hubby’s groomsmen and the perfect sash to compliment her beautiful gown. I even snagged a really cute outfit for baby.

 

Sunday was all about relaxation. I spent most of the late afternoon and evening in bed resting.  Hubs cooked a delicious dinner and we called it a night shortly afterwards.

Monday morning hubs took me to another doctor appointment for my Glucose Challenge Screening Test, to gauge how well my body processes sugar, to see if I’m at risk for gestational diabetes. The test was pretty simple and best of all, painless! I just had to drink this glucola, which didn’t taste too bad, get a shot in my arm, wait about 40 minutes and have my blood drawn 😦
 
How far along? 26 weeks

Symptoms: I’m peeing more often, feels like very 15-30 minutes. I’ve also noticed swelling in my feet and ankles if I’ve been standing too long or had too much sodium in my diet.

Sleep: Still using my Snoogle. I have some hip and lower back pain some nights/mornings from my sleeping position. Because of baby’s frequent movements, finding a comfy sleeping position can be difficult.

Total weight gain/loss: I’ve gained a total of 13.5 lbs so far.

Maternity clothes? Haven’t made any clothing purchases for myself this week (I think this is the longest I’ve gone without shopping).

Movement: Baby is more active as each day passes. I feel like I can tell when the movements are out of agitation (far more intense) or just stretches.

Food cravings: Milkshakes and ice cream. I guess this is my way of easing back into enjoying milk again (which was a total no-go during my 1st tri).

What’s making me sick: The only time I’ve felt sick recently was after taking a B12 vitamin on an empty stomach (bad move on my part) and that 30 minutes after drinking the glucola (haven’t felt that dizzy and queazy in a while).

Looking forward to: I can’t wait to see my husband with our baby…I literally feel overwhelmed at the thought of how incredible it will be. We’re still eager to see a 3D or 4D sonograms of Lil Bit’s face. I’m also looking forward to finally painting the nursery and just preparing for baby’s arrival in general.

Best moment this week: Making progress ordering things for the nursery and checking items off of the before-baby-comes to-do list!.

Thank you for reading and for all of my pregnant readers, please feel free to check in below as well and let me know how your pregnancy is going 🙂 I also welcome everyone’s advice and comments about pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

