1st Trimester Update!

I am so excited to share my weekly pregnancy update series with you all!  I wasn’t exactly sure when to post updates, after giving it much thought, it seemed to make the most sense to post at the ending of my week.

I am starting with week 14 and will update every Thursday since that’s when I advance to the next week. With today begin the first day of my second trimester, this post will summarize the first 13 weeks. I will also share with you all bump photos because I think it will be fun to show the progress of my growing belly.
Symptoms:  I still have occasional nausea in the evenings and at night, thank goodness those occasions are no longer the norm in comparison to just a few short weeks ago. I still feel fatigue some days (okay, most days), but it is getting better and I can feel myself becoming more energized and productive. Occasionally I get stretching and some cramping pains in my uterus.

Total weight gain/loss: So far I’ve gained a total of 2 lbs and 6 oz to date. I’ve noticed hubs has also put on a few pounds too. During most of the first trimester I was pretty sick. Keeping down even the most bland of foods proved to a challenge, so I lost a few pounds in the beginning.

Maternity clothes: A few pieces. During a recent shopping trip (right before father’s day), my mom encouraged me to pick up at least 1 or 2 maternity pieces. I ended up getting a really cute chevron print maxi dress and an empire waist button down blouse. As for pants, there are still a few pairs that I fit into comfortably.

Best moment this week: Having another u/s and getting to hear baby’s heartbeat.

Worst moment of the week: The weird dreams. Well, more like nightmares or night terrors. Lately I’ve had the most unbelievably realistic nightmares. There have been several occasions where I’ve woken up startled or in complete tears. Though I’ve read and have heard from others that bad or just plain old weird dreams are normal during pregnancy, I’m not sure what these are stemming from.

Do family and friends know: Yes! Now that my bump is pretty prominent, its kind of obvious.

What I miss: Sleeping on my stomach, green tea and chai tea lattes from Starbucks, the occasional glass of wine and turkey sandwiches.

What’s making me sick: the smell of cooking meat and I still on occasion get queasy at the sight of raw ground beef.

(Weird) food cravings: French fries, chicken fingers, veggies (carrots and broccoli) with ranch dip, grilled cheese, strawberries, pineapples, frozen yogurt. As for weird, bacon wrapped pickle with spicy mayo.

Am I showing? Without a doubt! At this point, I don’t even bother trying to hide it, it’s easier to wear clothing that can accommodate my bump.

Gender prediction: I think it’s a girl and hubs, even some of my co-workers and closest friends seem to thinks I’m having a boy.

Movement: There have been a few occasions when I feel a fluttering sensation in my belly. Think of swallowing a goldfish and it splashing around in your tummy, the feeling is pretty wild.

Belly Button: It’s still an innie, however, my poor lil belly button has been on the sore side over the last 2 weeks.

What I’m Looking forward to: Finding out the sex of the baby; we have another 3 weeks before we get confirmation. I’m also really excited to feel our baby move.

I’m so happy to have started my second trimester!  Moms and moms-to-be, please feel free to share your experiences in the comment section below. Your feedback is greatly appreciated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

