Surprise…We’re Expecting!

I know it’s been over a month since my last posting, but it’s all because hubs and I recently found out that we’re expecting! We’re super excited and I’m looking forward to sharing our journey with all of you. Since I’m just a few short weeks from going into my second trimester, I’ll follow this post with a summary of my entire first trimester and from there I’ll be sharing weekly  updates of my progress.

Last year was a really tough one for hubs and I after loosing 2 pregnancies and “trying again”, at one point, was the farthest thing from my mind. The losses were pretty devastating for us, to say the lest. The constant worrying whether I’d be able to carry a successful pregnancy, running every “what if” scenario through my mind was starting to drive me batty. We eventually decided to just allow nature to take its course and let things happen on its own.

After the first miscarriage, I immediately changed doctors. After hearing a co-worker raving about how amazing her doctor was and how much she loved the family atmosphere there, I made an appointment within the week and upon meeting the staff at Prime OB/GYN I felt that immediate sense of warmth and family, which I never felt in the several years with my previous doctor. Unfortunately, my second miscarriage came in October, a few short months later, as a result of a car accident. I spent the following months focusing on healing and getting back to my normal self.

Around the beginning part of April is when I noticed my menstrual cycle was late. I had a feeling something might be up because my periods are pretty regular, almost like clockwork, but I didn’t want to get my hopes up. I had the “what if we’re pregnant again” talk with hubs and went to bed. The next morning we both got up and started getting ready for work. What I didn’t tell him the night before, I stopped at the local drug store on the way home from work and picked up a pregnancy test. Right as he got in the shower I was on a mission to find out once and for all. I sat there, holding the test in my shaking hand feeling like my heart was beating out of my chest. Within about 30 seconds the screen went from blank, to showing the + – meaning positive.

 

 

I was shocked, so shocked I took another test and it too had positive results. I left both of them on the edge of the sink for hubs to see after his shower. It almost felt like an eternity for him to come out of the bathroom, but once he did, plastered across his face was a huge smile, we hugged and just took in the moment–admittedly, though I was super excited I was also really nervous.

So, there’s the story of how we found out!  We feel incredibly fortunate for this amazing blessing and could not be happier.

 

(my first ultrasound & hearing our baby’s heartbeat for the first time brought tears to my eyes!)

 

As far as what is to come, I am finally feeling like I have a little more energy (and the sickness has subsided for the most part), so expect more posts in the coming weeks. I hope to resume outfit posts too. I’ve most recently started dressing for my bump. Though I’m still fitting into my regular tops and even some dresses, I wish I could say the same for my pants (except for maybe 2 or 3 pairs). Maxi dresses and skirts have been my go-to. Can’t wait to share outfit pics!

I will, of course, be blogging about the pregnancy/baby but I’m not quite sure how often aside from the weekly updates, the announcement and first trimester recap posts. I’ve enjoyed following other bloggers on their pregnancy journeys and right into motherhood, and I hope you’ll follow along on mine :.)

Thank you all for reading and have a Fabulous rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

