Product Reviews: Hair + Skin Care + Makeup

Back in January during an errand run, I mentioned picking up a few Organix hair care products. Since then, my collection has grown a by a few…lol. If you can’t already tell, I’m a huge fan of the brand 😉  They’re super affordable and Thank you Jesus for putting a brand new Ulta within a 1 mile radius of my house! Which is also a bit dangerous now that I think about it. I find myself incorporating weekly trips to Ulta as often as I grocery shop. Now that stoked up on a few are the most recent additions along with a few makeup and skin care products that I haven’t reviewed yet. Please note that all of these products were purchased with my own money and this is not a sponsored post.

I really wanted to love this, I really did. To be honest, it kind of felt like hairspray when applied, leaving the texture of my hair dry and brittle. I was hoping it would give me some moisture, leave my hair with a glossy sheen and most importantly, protect my hair against heat damage caused by my flat-iron (which I use almost daily). I used it twice before taking it back to the store in exchange for the products below. Both times I used the spray (combed through my hair), my flat-iron would sizzle and I noticed the ends of my hair had been burned a little. I think this product was just too heavy for my hair texture, but work best on someone with a finer texture. I’ll have to pass on this.

Argan Oil & Shea Butter Moisture Restore Weightless Oil
My FAB NEW FAVE! This was the first product I used on my hair after the heat damage. It smells great (very beachy)…and the price point is awesome. From the very first use I could immediately feel a difference in my hair’s texture. The Shea butter left my hair feeling super soft and silky. After my routine wash, I used a generous amount on my hair making sure to massage into my scalp before blow drying my hair. The argon oil helped to hydrate and replenish moisture and add a nice shiny coat to my hair. It is definitely at holy grail status for me.

Kukui Anti-Frizz Hydrating Oil
Thank you Organix for this product! With my hair’s texture being on the corser-side, it doesn’t take that much humidity before it starts look a bit afroish and my hair is already short, no thanks. Since using this I can honestly say I haven’t had any frizz in my hair at all. All last week each morning it rained and days that were a little warmer had this hot and muggy feel in the air. The kukui oil was the not to perfect weight to actually keep my curls from going flat or frizzing after being outside with that amount of moisture in the air. And it smells AMAZING! Think Hawaiian vacation.

Biotin & Collagen Weightless Healing Oil Mist
This is what I currently use as a “flat-iron spray”. I give my entire head a few mists and come through with a wide tooth comb before styling. I’ve also given my scalp a few sprays on occasion when it feels dry and the vitamin B7 Biotin’s healing capabilities go to work.  I’ve even noticed my hair even looks thicker. This oil, too, smells great and is for sure on my worth buying list!

Argan Oil of Morocco Weightless Healing Dry Oil
I initially purchased this at the same time I picked up the Flat Iron Spray thinking that it would add some extra moisture to my hair, however, I ended up using in attempts to replenish the oils and restore moisture that the flat-iron spray stripped from my hair. Unfortunately, this was too light of an oil to really give me the amount of moisture I needed, but its perfect as a finishing spray! With this sub-tropic humidity we have here in Orlando (and no there is no breeze because I’m central), the dry oil works awesome on my hair during those warmer days and works amazingly with the Kukui Anti-Frizz Hydrating Oil. You’re welcome.

Shaveworks The Cool Fix Targeted Gel Lotion
HOLY GRAIL ALERT!! This gel lotion is amazing. Lately I’ve had a few ingrown hairs right around my chin/neck area and admittedly, I’m super self-conscious about it. I’ve been struggling to find a product that isn’t too harsh on my sensitive skin. The cooling gel lotion is so soothing to irritated skin and within minutes the redness is gone. This product is now apart of my daily skin care routine: in the morning and before bed. The best part is I’m seeing my skin heal. Highly recommend it and it’s worth all $25 bucks.

Shaveworks  Pearl Souffle Luxurious Shave Cream
This shave cream really is awesome. I could feel a difference immediately after using. It left my skin feeling so soft and smooth. It doesn’t have any Sulfates or Parabens, which can be an irritant for sensitive skin. Though I’m not exactly in love with the $22 price point, but I’ll suck it up for a silky smooth, bump free shave. This shave cream def gets 2 thumbs up from me for sure!

e.l.f. Under Eye Concealer & Highlighter
Personally, I think every woman needs a good under eye product in their make up routine. This 2 in 1 product has on one end, a pinkish creamy liquid concealer and on the other, is a pearl colored liquid highlighter. The concealer, in my opinion, is the better of the 2. The highlighter is a little too goopy for my taste and I didn’t see where I was getting that “dewy” or “wide awake” look I was hoping for. A makeup artist friend  recommended  Mirabella Beauty Brilliant Mineral Highlighter, that works wonders. I’ve only used it a couple of times, but I immediately noticed how bright and vibrant my eyes look.  There are quite a few shades to choose from, which also allow for this product to be used in a variety of ways, contouring the face and cheeks especially. Mirabella Beauty is def my pick!

e.l.f. Cream Eyeliner
Admittedly, I’m terrible at applying eyeliner, this I rich and creamy liner just glides right on and at $3  bucks, it totally exceeded my expectations. The shorter brush was a definite help for the first several uses. I now use the Duo Brow Shadow Mineral Makeup Brush, which is the perfect tool for creating a cat-eye or winged eye liner. Definitely worth buying.

e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit
Filling in my brows is something I didn’t always do. I just thought it wasn’t really that important, oh how wrong was I?! Because brows frame the face, it’s important that they are properly shaped and filled in. Bottom line ladies, this is an essential step in your makeup routine. This eyebrow kit was just okay for me. None of the colors really matched my natural brow color, for that, I wasn’t really impressed. I prefer Dirt Eye Candy 15 Hour Mineral Brow Definer to fill in my brows. This color blends PERFECTLY and I look more natural. If you’re choosing between the two, I recommend Ferro Cosmetics.

e.l.f. Waterproof Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara
Though I loved the cute packaging, I didn’t get the warm and fuzzies after using this mascara. My lashes are pretty full on their own, but I was hoping they would look longer and more defined. What I got instead is a clumped mess if I apply more than 1, maybe 2 coats max.

I hope these reviews have been helpful for those of you who haven’t tried any of the products mentioned! If you’ve already have, please share your experiences with them.

Leave a Reply

